jump to navigation

Busy is as Busy does March 27, 2013

Posted by mattfarmer in writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

wooshToday has been a very busy day for me. Good busy, very good busy, but darn it to gosh! A client meeting in the morning, discussing a social media content package, plus and information pack of what I do so they can on-sell it to their clients who would also like social media.

Then a meeting with my business coach, 1208 Business Logo - Blue - Full Logo-01where we talked about 48 hour goals, fortnightly goals, planning and such, building products for me to sell, marketing me. I know I have written before about taking myself seriously, but getting coaching about my writing as a BUSINESS, and changing how I think about myself as a writer, as a business, is making me take myself seriously again. Hard to explain….

From there I went and spoke to another client, a law firm, about doing social media and training and writing articles and blogs. Good client interview, they really challenged me and I mostly was up to the challenge. Some technical knowledge I couldn’t be perfect on, but, I left them convinced I know what I am doing and can really help them. Of course, there are discussions to be had, but, positive.

I am looking forward to writing for these people.

This evening I attended a networking event. Not such a great event. Not formal networking structure, no selling to each other. I need to sell myself to you, so you can then sell myself to someone else. That is networking, surely. Anyway, a speaker asked- why are you in business? And I answered- because I am good at what I do. Two people whom I have done work for before both said- yes you are.

That made me feel really good. Add this is why I want to work for more people. Yeah, the money would be good, it would relieve a lot of tension in my shoulders. It would allow me to do more and achieve more. I would be able to invest in me, my business and my relationship…s. But it would also allow me to write. A simple little thing, surely. If I get to write for these clients, on a regular basis, then I get to write, on a regular basis.

But, hang on Matt, don’t you have a novel you are writing? Can’t you write that on a regular basis? Well, yes I do, and no I don’t. I have been regular in the past few days, but when I promised to get it done by the START of March and it is near the END of March? It kind of implies I’m not writing on it regularly. I would love to, but work writing prioritises, and then tonight, I don’t have the brain power to get into character.

Writing is what I am good at, and to be given the chance to do good writing, regularly, would be absolutely awesome. And not for myself, but for other people.

Speaking of my novel, sorry, late call there on the segue-way, my editor has Acts 1 and 2. Did a quick word count, Act 1 is only 24 500 words, Act 2 is nigh on 50k words! A little bit lop-sided, but, the acts end where it feels natural. And the current Act 3? That is sitting at 13k, more or less. So a big middle act. I hope you went to the restroom at first interval.

Once Act 3 is finished, even while it is being edited, I will then engage my cover designer. She likes to read the book to get a feel for it so she can craft the cover better. So, it is moving, it is building steam. 🙂 Joke there, did you see it? romney laff

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

