jump to navigation

Happy 3 years to me! Now bring me cake… February 19, 2013

Posted by mattfarmer in Copy writing, writing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

3rd_birthday_cake WordPress  tells me I have been at this blog for three years now. Time flies, I must say. I took a quick look at what I was doing three years ago in my first blog post, titled Commitments to Writing. I had just started my IRC based online writing group- Wednesday Night Writers. That group no longer exists, sadly. I quite enjoyed it, it made me write some good stuff. But, people move on.

Actually, I have only written one short story since then. My mind and writing has shifted to the longer prose of novels, and to building my copy writing skills and business.

My latest novel, South of the Border, I declared to my editor that it would be finished by the end of February. Since I have announced to someone, and to others, and now you, my MASSIVE fan base, that the first draft will be finished in, woah, 9 days, I am now accountable to that. I have just finished Act 2, which is good. So I now have 9 days to write the massively climatic battle and lead into book 3. Sure, I can do that.

News on Book 1- The Girl From Out of Town, it has been formatted, and the cover worked for a print version. I am just waiting on some cash to grab some ISBN’s, and to figure out the US tax requirements. So soon, I will have a print novel, in my hot little hands. It is not a quick process, but it is a process nonetheless.

And on the professional front? Well, I am in that freelance trap of doing work and having clients be a little lapse in making payments.  It is a struggle, and a stress, to be honest. You want to do your best for clients, but it is tricky not to bring a little bit of stress with you into each job when you think- can I afford to do this? I am sure that in a month’s time, when I have 10 clients under my belt, 5 websites, numerous blog posts and brochures, I will look back at today and think- wow, how close was I to the edge?

And further to my professional writing biz, I made a judgement call last week. I have a newsletter – Matthew’s Writing Snackbox. It was my little monthly newsletter with news on writing, character development, a real mix of tastes and flavours, as per the title of the newsletter. But it did not have a direction. So, I need to tighten it up and focus it more. I have decided it will be more focused on copy writing, marketing and such, to be a real valuable source of information to clients and people who want to write, or want some tips on how I do the things that I do.

And what about the rest of the cool stuff I find on writing which I included? Well, as someone said- isn’t that what your blog is for? Isn’t that what your Facebook is for? So, yes, I will source the same material, the same content, but divide it up into work and pleasure, if you will. So much happens in the world of writing, and I want to share as much as I can with people.

So look out 2013. This is the year I change things up, write stuff, become successful, and, STUFF!

35005508

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

