jump to navigation

A week in the life of a published writer July 10, 2012

Posted by mattfarmer in Uncategorized.
trackback

Good evening. It has been just over a week. I remember it was very late on a Monday night that I finally managed to get my book up onto .

 

Later that same week I managed to get my book into the .

 

I was mentioned in a blog –

 

 

And another one –

 

Friends have mentioned me on Facebook, in emails, meetings, newsletters and such. It feels strange being the centre of attention, to be totally honest. Being congratulated on publishing a novel feels strange. I am not trying to sound arrogant or unwelcome to the attention, it just feels strange. I don’t think it has sunk in yet.

A friend said to me during the week- “You’re now a published author!” This hasn’t sunk in. It didn’t bounce off me and not leave a mark. I think it hit me like I was made of foam. An indentation has been left, but most of it bounced off. It doesn’t quite feel real.

Writing is what I do, what I have done for so long. Now to be published, feels strange. It has been something I have been avoiding for so long. There would always be one more re-write, or I was still editing, or the belief the book was not good enough. Or I should try and send it to publishing houses, agents and such. That doing it myself wasn’t worthy. All these silly notions in my head.

And now here I am, with a book released into the wilds of the internet, for a week now. And you know what? The world hasn’t ended. No monsters crawled out from beneath my bed. I have developed an unhealthy habit if checking emails for the ‘another sale’ subject line. I may need professional help for that.

So, now what? Well, now I must market my book. I need to get the message out there to people I know, to people I don’t know, that this is a good book, and they should buy it. And it is, its a good read. 97 000 words, so it isn’t a book you’re going to buy cheap and be done with in an hour. It will take you longer to read, time to invest in the characters, in the story, and care about what happens next.

So, the next steps? I need everyone I know to tell their friends! If you’re reading this, grab a free sample, read that book, tell all your friends. 🙂

I am looking into , and I am looking at print-on-demand, through .

Lots to do!

In the mean time, visit my website, grab a copy of my book from either Smashwords or the Kindle Direct store!

Comments»

1. theplotbunnies - July 10, 2012

Congratulations, Matt!

Yes, get on Goodreads. And good idea about a print run. I think a book like that will do well in print.
The most important marketing you can do? Write your next book! I’ve been doing this a year and had good sales, but my newest release is the one that people are excited about and buying a LOT of. Add that to my already good sales and life is good right now. 🙂 So keep writing!

Congrats again you published author you.

mattfarmer - July 10, 2012

I need help with Goodreads. It looks great but I am so lost in what to do and how to do it. Would you like to give me a step-by-step?

2. Patricia Jimenez - July 10, 2012

You did it! I really like your book, Matt. Congratulations!
– esen / Trinseek / Trinity / Patti Jimenez from forrest

mattfarmer - July 10, 2012

🙂 Thank you VERY much!


Leave a Reply

