jump to navigation

Happy Belated New Year January 10, 2011

Posted by mattfarmer in writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Welcome to the year of 2011. Soon it will be the year of the Metal Rabbit. I have read many New Year resolutions from people, on blogs, livejournal and the like. A lot of- I will finish my novel- resolutions. I’ve written a few of those names down and I think I may email them periodically through the year, just to make sure they’re on track.

I have taken a little bit of time to blog for the new year. I didn’t want to come out and say I WILL DO THIS and THAT IN 2011! I wanted to think about things and figure out what is actually possible for me in the new year, looking back on my history of writing and achieving. And then I wanted to take what I know I can do, and take a few steps beyond my boundaries. Nothing outrageous, but more courageous.

I have also been inspired by The Creative Penn’s New Years Resolution blog, where she laid out in the blog all she was going to achieve in the year, so there was a public record to uphold. I will do the same. I am quite sure this list will change over the course of time,  but here we go:

1. Finish the re-write of Book 1- Bow Shock, and send it out to at least 5 publishers in the science fiction genre- fantastic new author! Duotrope is going to be my friend.

2. Write a short story every month, and submit at least half of these for publication.

3. Finish my current novel, the fifth and final book in the series, so I can write THE END. (This is not number 1, because it is something I know is inevitable, and which I am doing at the moment anyway).

4. e-publishing.

5. Get more paid freelance copy-writing work.

6. Build my website. Get some web hosting and launch it, even if it is to simply host my blog on my own site. It would be a start on to the grander plans I have for that place.

7. Steampunk. Speaking of places I have plans for. A world is growing inside me for a Steampunk story. I am planning on at least having it ready for Nanowrimo 2011, but I also plan to do some significant world building for this venture. Defining three schools of magic, map and history for a nation, fill this world with mythological creatures (lucky I bought this book for research reasons…).

I will flesh out the range of characters I have already got sketchy ideas for- Skyship Captain, wilderness hunter, rogue druid and his wife-wife… understand the mechanics and the reason why there are airships. I want to fully realise this world. I believe there can be a LOT of material built in this world.

So there is my list. I am sure there is more that I want from this year. But right now, that’s enough. I know that I can achieve all of the above. While each of the 7 tasks are easy enough in themselves, time management to do them all? That is going to be a challenge.

Good luck to me. Good luck to you all in your new year writing ventures.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

