jump to navigation

Still beginning again and again August 10, 2010

Posted by mattfarmer in writing, Writing Group.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Its crazy. I’ve written the novel. I have been through 4 drafts. I have 3 other novels which follow on from this in the series. It has been read and enjoyed and reviewed.

And yet, trying to start it again, I falter and fall down.

It is the strangest thing. Once I get into it, all is well. It is just the beginning.

In last weeks writing group two writers commented that they prefer to write characters of the opposite gender. One writer said he enjoyed writing female characters as he can enjoy writing as a woman because he knows everything there is to being a man.

I didn’t fully understand his comment. I don’t know if it is because I have not fully investigated pure gender issues of each of my characters, or I just characterise a person and have them do and be, without a need for gender. My three MC”s for my novel are two gentlemen and a lady (I flatter them by calling them such…) and I can’t say that I have enjoyed writing any of them less than some.

In a later book I developed a lesbian relationship for one of my characters. I have not received any feedback on how well I wrote that. So far those who have read it have not told me it felt false or was badly written. On the other hand, no one has said it was a waste of space and irrelevant for the book. I will hold off judgment until I have had more feedback.

Looking back at my work, I must say that most of my MCs are male. Some may say it is a conscious decision of mine to do this, but I don’t know. Unless you go way out on a limb, you only have 2 choice for the gender of your MC. So I choose the XY more often than XX, should I read more into this than I need? I know how to be a male, so am I just writing what I know rather than challenging myself to write as someone I don’t fully understand?

Or am I just thinking too much? Perhaps I am just distracting myself from the start of this novel.

Speaking of distracting my self, I now need ice cream

Comments»

1. amkuska - August 15, 2010

Hmm, interesting thought. In my current writing queue, one story begging to be written is from the perspective of a male. I’ve got one written, one in progress, and one to be written from the female perspective. Mostly I prefer the female perspective, but I usually end up trying to ‘balance’ that by surrounding my female character with men. >.<

Maybe I should work on achieving balance.

2. Jen - August 23, 2010

Hey, I just found your blog via a bunch of other writing blogs.
Lots to think about, here
I think I mostly write women because I am one (not to diss that guy in your writing group, but I don’t buy ‘knowing everything that there is to being’ anything…) but it’s nothing I consciously decide to do. Possibly it’s just because I’m self centred or not terribly creative and a lot of the time I develop stories from imaginary acting out ‘what if this happened?’ scenarios.
In the story I’m working on right now there are some characters dealing with coming out, death, major illness, legal troubles, and plain old day-to-day life in a different time period…all totally unknown factors for me. It just seems to be how the thing is playing out. Like you mention, I’m really hoping the made up bits that have very little in common with my life experience won’t read falsely, that I’ve managed to find some true little grain or kernel in there… waah.
Anyway, I digs the blog!
Trade you about four beginnings for a decent middle and half an ending.
Did someone say ice cream?
later
-Jen


Leave a Reply

