jump to navigation

dots I am beginning to join June 8, 2010

Posted by mattfarmer in writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I am still going through the deconstruction of my novel. I have gone back and looked at The Hero’s Journey. I have drawn the circle which represents the start of the hero’s journey, the descent into the unknown, the turning point, and the return to the beginning after change “with the power to bestow boons on his fellow man

I numbered 7 key points in my story around the circle. For each number I have described where each of my 3 main characters are, and what happens to them. By the time I get back to point 1, I describe what i want to have changed with them, and in the way they interact with the other characters.

Now I can study my scene cards closer. I can whittle them down and group them into the 7 core scenes of my book. I can then apply what changes I want to occur to my 3 main characters.

I may dress each scene up with some fluff, some witty banter, a bit of back story or observation, some dialogue for character development, so long as each of the 7 scenes carry the plot along, carry the 3 characters along, to the conclusion.

I am feeling quite strong about this. I have some solid direction, very simple and strong goals to achieve in each scene. I know where I want to begin a scene, and end a scene, to which would lead into the next scene. I have made it simpler for me to understand. I like this.

This is not to say my book is going to be seven chapters long. There is a story there, there is action and set pieces, some scenes are longer than others.

But to have these 7 scenes, 7 objects, if you will, to play with, hold, manipulate and fit into the fabric of the overall work?

This feels very good to me.

Comments»

1. Jason Fischer - July 6, 2010

Hey dude, how goes it? Hope those dots are beginning to join up 🙂 Good luck with your rejigging and reshuffling, Jason.


Leave a Reply

