jump to navigation

The writing you dont like to do can be good for you June 5, 2010

Posted by mattfarmer in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I would love to be a published author. I know many people who read this would also love to be a published author. To be able to pay the bills and grocery shop with money earned through writing creatively? That would be awesome.

However, we do need to work the nine to five job in the mean time, to pay the bills and buy groceries. My day-to-day role is in customer service. I get to write a lot, which is good, but it is mainly repetitive answering of questions. A part of my role is to handle escalated customer inquiries, as I like to put it, or talk to customers or write to them, when they are quite angry. This is not the fun part of my job.

There have been quite a few angry customers of late. Perhaps there is something in the water. Oh, wait, I just checked and it is the full moon currently. Yesterday I had to compose an email to a very angry customer explaining things. It took a good deal of time to compose this email, making sure I had answered all questions asked, in a way which was explanatory, well sounding, well-mannered and acceptable from my company’s point of view. I also had to ring a different customer, and write a follow-up report on that phone call and how the customer felt about everything.

In both instances, particularly the phone call, neither customer was happy with the outcome, but it was something that you would never be happy with.

However, my manager took me aside and gave me praise about the way I handled both accounts. The email I sent the first customer, and the report I wrote on the second, she said were both well constructed, worded and written.

In the midst of all these bad vibes over the content, to be told that I wrote the follow-up well, and handled myself well in this situation, made me feel better about the whole situation.

I am currently still chewing over the feedback Jason gave me for my novel. I am partly in that same head space of stress and bad vibes over how to rework it, in particular the main crux of the entire novel – why would a company attack its own employees with pirates?

I have gained some confidence that, being in a similar head-space with my personal creative work as I am in my day-to-day work, I may still produce strong content which is well written, well constructed, and has a clear message.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

