jump to navigation

Writing Symbology and Deities May 16, 2010

Posted by mattfarmer in writing.
trackback

I have just returned from my honeymoon. Yes, I got married. Eloped, actually. Awesome that we pulled it off. All our family were happy, surprised, and happy again.

I mention it here because of the wedding band my (now) wife gave me on the day. Or respective wedding bands were a secret from each other until they were put on to our fingers. For my wife I gave her a Claddagh ring with emerald and diamond.

In return she gave me a ring with Ogham Script. The script reads – “A Blessing on this soul”, which is great. But what makes this ring fantastic as well, as my wife explained, is Ogham Script, according to Celtic Legend, was created by the God Oghma. One of his portfolios is being God of Writing.

I talked about Symbols and icons and totems for writing back in this post – 6 weeks to form a habit, 12 weeks to show health benefits. I think having an external focus can be inspiring to a writer. The small dragon that I have as my writing totem, the hat I wear so others will see – Matt is Writing.

And now, the woman I married, shows her support and faith in me, but giving me a wedding band which has a link to a God of Writing.  I didn’t even know there was a God of Writing.

It encourages me to have this support, and this belief from someone in my abilities. I have talked before about self-belief and such-like. So to have such an important item given to me like this? Awesome.

I have done some small research into writing Gods, which ancient societies would associate writing to which deity. With the 9 Muses of Greek Mythology, it is a toss-up between Calliope, the muse of Epic Poetry whose symbol was a writing tablet, or Clio the Muse of History whose symbol were scrolls. Both are relevant to being writing deities.

Hermes was associated with High Literature and messages in Greek mythology; Thoth was the God of Scribes and Writing in Egyptian mythology; Ganesha from Hindu mythology is associated with Writing and Building, arts and sciences.

Julia Cameron speaks of the creator within, your inner child as being a divine creator. Tapping into that well of creativity inside yourself is a divine act.

This is a blog about writing so I will not try to stir controversy with talk about region. I have my beliefs. They are mine. They may not sit well with others, but that is fine. They are my beliefs, and they work for me.  I will say that in all cultures with a belief in gods and deities there is always a Great Creator, a god that started it all, created life.

When you write, you are creating. The lives of characters are in your hands, in your creative mind. What trials you put them through you get to decide. If you write genre fiction there is a great deal of world creating that YOU, the writer, get to do. In a way, you become the god of your own fictional creation.

This idea sits well with me. And to also link to other gods around the world of writing and creating, I like this.

To have a wedding band on my finger linked to a Celtic God of Writing. This sits very well with me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

