jump to navigation

Elements of Awesome March 6, 2010

Posted by mattfarmer in writing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This is my version of re-tweeting.

Tribal Writer just posted a link to a story By Donald Maas, at the Writer Unboxed called ‘Elements of Awesome‘.

Some good reading this. It talks about evoking an emotional response in your reader. What keeps your reader reading? Your fantastic use of the English language, or tight control over grammar? No, its connecting to the character and their struggle. It’s the emotional response.

I know I have an emotional connection to my characters. I invest time and energy into making them. I imagine their lives for them. I do wonder if I manage to translate that feeling to readers. I currently have minimal feedback on my work, so I am not sure if the readers feel the same as I do. But I am growing my readership, so heres hoping!

emotions aren’t gold. A story situation that provokes strong emotions is.

Show, don’t tell.

It was good getting this update as I am writing my fifth novel. Kizmet!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

